All Posts Media Statements Conferences Newborn Screening and Genetics General

APHL and ISNS Honor 2023 Newborn Screening Award Winners

Group photo of all 2023 APHL Newborn Screening Award winners posing with their awards.

For Immediate Release

Sacramento, CA, October 19, 2023 – At the 2023 Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL)/ International Society for Neonatal Screening (ISNS) Newborn Screening Symposium, APHL presented awards to leaders in the field of newborn screening. Additionally, ISNS honored those from around the globe for their commitment to the field of newborn screening. The winners were announced during a ceremony on Wednesday, October 18. Congratulations to all award winners!

The following APHL awards were presented:

The George Cunningham Visionary Award in Newborn Screening is given to someone who has made the greatest contribution to expanding or improving the screening of newborns by public health agencies in one or more states. This year’s award recipient is:

  • Rachel Lee, PhD, medical screening unit director, Laboratory Services Section, Texas Department of State Health Services

The Judi Tuerck Newborn Screening Follow-up and Education Award honors someone who has made significant and outstanding contributions in one or more of the following areas: enhancing the caliber of the newborn screening system; improving follow-up and education; developing creative short term follow-up strategies that significantly reduce the time to diagnosis and treatment of affected infants; developing or enhancing long term follow-up strategies; establishing novel approaches or methods for managing the integration of new technologies in newborn screening; translating novel approaches or methods into best practices or guidelines for follow-up and education; providing innovative newborn screening follow-up training/education for best practices; or improving practices to ensure timely detection, reporting, intervention and treatment for newborns detected with disorders/conditions. This year’s award recipient is:

  • Carol Johnson, newborn screening follow-up coordinator, Iowa Newborn Screening Program, State Hygienic Laboratory at the University of Iowa

The Everyday Life Saver Award in Newborn Screening highlights the meaningful, ongoing ways the recipient contributes to the morale of their team and/or operations of their program on a daily basis. This year there are two recipients:

  • Kimberly Blake, newborn screening manager, North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health
  • Ron Hardy, owner (retired), Central Delivery Services of Iowa

The Harry Hannon Laboratory Improvement Award in Newborn Screening award honors someone who has made significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: assuring the quality of testing, enhancing the specificity of tests, establishing new creative laboratory approaches and technologies, providing laboratory training/education for new technologies and tests, or improving the detection of newborn disorders/conditions. This year’s recipient is:

  • Patrick Hopkins, newborn screening project specialist, Missouri State Public Health Laboratory

The Clinician Champion Award honors someone involved in patient care and who has made significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: ensuring newborns receive adequate screening and appropriate follow-up; assuring timely and effective communication of screening results to patients and families; and contributing to efforts to strengthen the impact of the public health newborn screening system by being directly involved in follow-up care, community affairs, newborn screening advocacy and/or community activities. This year there are two recipients:

  • Philip Farrell, MD/PhD, emeritus dean and professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Population Health Sciences, UW School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Paul Levy, MD, director, Inherited Metabolic Disease Specialty Care Center, Montefiore Medical Center

The Achievements in Public Health Informatics Award honors a person working in any aspect of newborn screening worldwide and has made significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: enhancing implementation practices for electronic messaging; developing strategies for achieving effective data management; improving laboratory capability for health information data exchange; or providing new and creative approaches to communicate findings through data visualization. This year’s recipient is:

  • Craig Newman, PhD, Public Health Interoperability Subject Matter Expert, Altarum Institute

The ISNS awardees are:

The Robert Guthrie Award is given annually to honour a member of ISNS who has made an outstanding contribution to newborn or other population-based screening which is recognized as such worldwide. The awardees are:

  • 2019 Awardee: R. Rodney Howell, MD, FAAP, FACMG; Professor and Chairman of Pediatrics, Emeritus; Emeritus Member, Hussman Institute for Human Genomics, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
  • 2020 Awardee: Georg F. Hoffmann, MD, Univ.-Prof. Dr. med., Prof. h.c. mult. (RCH); Chairman/Department of Pediatrics, University of Heidelberg
  • 2021 Awardee: Joanne Mei, PhD; Chief, Newborn Screening Quality Assurance Program, Newborn Screening and Molecular Biology Branch, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • 2022 Awardee: Michael Gelb, PhD; Professor and Boris and Barbara L. Weinstein Endowed Chair in Chemistry; Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of Washington

The Jean Dussault Medal for young investigators is given annually to honour a member of ISNS who has made a significant contribution to neonatal or other population-based screening which is recognized as such. The awardees are:

  • 2019 Awardee: Stephan Borte, MD, PhD; Head of Department of Laboratory Medicine, Hospital St. Georg Leipzig
  • 2020 Awardee: Francyne Kubaski, MSc, PhD; Staff Scientist, Biochemical Genetics Laboratory, Greenwood Genetic Center
  • 2021 Awardee: Ulrike Mütze, MD; Metabolic Pediatrician, PI Long-term outcome metabolic newborn screening; Metabolic Center Heidelberg, Metabolic Laboratory, Center for Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine, Heidelberg University Hospital
  • 2022 Awardee: Amy M. Gaviglio, MS, CGC; Genetics and Public Health Consultant, Connetics Consulting

The Gerard Loeber Award for Contributions to Newborn Screening Expansion in Developing Countries (NBS Development Award) is given every third year at the occasion of the ISNS international symposium. The awardee is:

  • 2023 Awardee: Kate Armstrong, DrPH, B Med, DCH, MPH, FAFPHM; President and Founder, Caring & Living as Neighbors (CLAN)

APHL and ISNS congratulate all award winners, and we thank them for their contributions to advancing the essential work of newborn screening.

Learn more about the APHL/ISNS Newborn Screening Symposium.

# # #

The Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL) works to strengthen laboratory systems serving the public’s health in the US and globally. APHL’s member laboratories protect the public’s health by monitoring and detecting infectious and foodborne diseases, environmental contaminants, terrorist agents, genetic disorders in newborns and other diverse health threats. Learn more at

Contact Michelle Forman at 240-485-2793 or

Leave a Comment

Subscribe to get updates delivered to your inbox.